There’s No Place Like Home!

Standard

And no better way to get there than in adorable shoes!

shoes

I am in no way an expert on shoes. I know what I like and I know what looks good to m. So, you can take my advice to heart or you can take it with a grain of salt.

I’m going to start with a problem that I have: small calf muscles. The bottom of my legs are very thin. These are some tricks that I’ve picked up to help my calves look bigger.

The way skinny jeans bunch up around the knees can make your calves look bigger, but you can also just go with a bootcut and the illusion of calves is there. If you wear skinny jeans heels give your calf muscles long definition where as flats just make the calves appear bigger about halfway down. Flex your foot right now. You’ll see the difference. (I’ll come back to skinny jeans later.)

Another thing you can do is wear skirts that hit right at the knee – not above. Especially straight or pencil skirts.

The only people who should ever wear shoes with ankle straps are women that have very small ankles! Ankle straps do not give your ankles definition. They make ankles appear larger and legs appear shorter. Shoes with ankle straps can also bring more attention to your calves, especially if worn with a straight skirt. Another thing you can do is wear skirts that hit right at the knee – not above. Especially straight or pencil skirts. Mini-skirts will NOT make your calves look wider.

So, let’s move on to “cankles”. What an ugly word. If you don’t have much definition in that area of your leg the best shoe is a pointed heel. Pointed toe shoes make your legs appear longer. Add a heel and they look even longer still!

Heels are always going to make your butt look more pert than flats do. Heels and flats work different muscles in your legs. Of course, I’m not even going to pretend to know what those muscles are.

I’m going to jump back to skinny jeans to say that any body can wear them. Again the shirt is important. I did write an article on How To Wear Skinny Jeans, but I didn’t add much information about shoes. A problem that I have with skinny jeans, other than the ones mentioned in the article, is that they sit right at the ankle. This isn’t a problem with other types of jeans, because most other jeans aren’t tight around the ankle. When something is tight at the ankle and cuts right across the ankle it can make your ankle look wider and your legs look shorter.  There are three ways to balance this out: pointed toe shoes, heels, or knee-high boots. If you want the skinny jeans/boots combo and you’re a pear or an apple you need to go with knee-high boots that are really going to bring the attention down to your calves to balance out wide hips or saddle bags(that fat that sits under your butt). Side note: knee-high boots are also good for making your calf muscles appear larger.

Let’s talk work pants. Straight leg pants look best with flats(like Audrey Hepburn in funny face) or high heels. Wide leg trousers look best with kitten heels or flats(if tailored correctly), because they already elongate your legs so much that heels aren’t really necessary. Boots are also great with wide leg trousers, but no one will see them.

Skirts… with a mini skirt I would avoid heels, but I would also avoid ankle straps. I love boots with mini-skirts, but not thigh high boots. Calf boots, ankle boots or knee-high boots are best for a mini skirt. I love the look of mini skirts in winter because of the boot options alone (that might make its own post shortly).

I think pencil skirts and ankle booties can be very sexy. Pencil skirts and flats with a t-shirt can be sexy and casual. Pencil skirts with heels are great for the office(especially kitten heels) or a nice dinner out. Pencil skirts with boots can be very cool if they are sleek boots or ankle boots.

I think that’s all I have.

What do you think?

