How To: Movie Looks – To Wong Foo…

Standard
To Wong Foo, Thanks for Everything! Julie Newmar

To Wong Foo, Thanks for Everything! Julie Newmar (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The three sexiest men in America(at the time) were dressed in drag and put in a movie about drag queens driving across country and a break down – figuratively and literally – in small town America.

There are so many things that I love about this movie. This cast – Are you kidding me? Blythe Danner, Stockard Channing, Robin Williams and Jason London help to support the main characters. Then there is Julie Newmar and RuPaul. I dare you to name a better cast in a 90’s movie about drag queens. You can’t do it. (Unless you count Priscilla Queen of the Desert.) The clothes, the make-up, the montages! the music. ugh. This movie. One work can sum it all up and that word is “fabulous”!

Because there are so many fabulous looks to pull ideas from, I’m going to narrow it down to one casual look, one nightclub look and a Strawberry Social dress for each body type. I’m excited to get started!

Hourglass: I used belts to make sure your tiny waist was emphasized. Each look has as much going on with the top as with the bottom so you don’t have to worry about losing your natural balance.

to wong foo

Column: I made sure to balance out your larger bust with a lot of ruffles and fluff.


to wong foo

Pear: I used wide shoulders and necklines to balance out your larger hips.

to wong foo

Boy: Tiny waists, ruffled sleeves, and ruching at the bust creates a va-va-voom shape.

to wong foo

Apple: I minimized your stomach with black around the waist, emphasis on the bust and full skirts.

To Wong Foo

I hope everyone enjoys this as much as I do.

AND

This is my 100th post! Woohoo!!!! I am happy that I’ve made it this far and am looking forward to another 100 posts!

PS. I wrote a swimsuit article for a local magazine. I’ll be sharing links and telling you where you can get a copy as soon as it’s published!

What do you think?

