How To Pick Your Prom Dress – Pear Shape

Standard

Okay, pear shaped Ladies, you do not have to hide your larger bottom half. Don’t hide. Balance.

There are plenty of types of prom dresses out there. No matter your style, you’re bound to find something that fits. I picked two dresses that are going to balance out a bigger bottom – not hide it. (However, if that’s what you’re going for, there are dresses that do that, too.) The first dress has this beautiful  ruffly, floral, wide shoulder pullover, top that is going to not only bring the attention up to your bust, but also streamline wider hips. A definite plus is the bow tie at the waist to make sure the world knows you have a tiny one.

The second dress is a fabulously chic and shiny number. I normally don’t recommend a deep v-neck for pear shapes, however, there isn’t much harm when this dress has so much going for it. It’s got gathering under the bust to add emphasis in that area. It has wide-set shoulder straps to balance out a larger butt. And it pulls in at the waist, too.

Pears at Prom
Follow on twitter or facebook for daily tips and tricks that aren’t posted here!
2 thoughts on “How To Pick Your Prom Dress – Pear Shape

  1. This is excellent! I especially love the dress on the right. I wish we had prom dresses like this available when I was a kid. Now anything goes but back then, everything was floor length and poofy (which can be nice too but I like the hip hugging).

    • I had a cowl neck, floor-length, hip hugging gown at prom. I saved it. It’s in the back of my closet. I might wear it to my reunion. haha. (yeah, right!)
      This one was hard to do, because there were so many dresses that I found and loved. It would probably be a bit unfair if I gave pear-shapes 20 options and everyone else only 2. 😀

What do you think?

