My Style

Standard

I have three favorite pieces for the weather right now.

One would be my dav rain boots. I bought them at T.J. Maxx for under $30. Rain boots are a must in winter in the middle Tennessee area. It barely snows, but it is rainy all winter here.

My second favorite is my GAP lightweight corduroy, mustard yellow, skinny legs. I found them at Goodwill for $4.99.

I know, as a pear*, I shouldn’t wear them, but usually I have something that balances them out on top.

Like my favorite winter item #3…

An adorable little sweater from Phase2 – which is no longer open. (However, you can find very cute items in separate stores from the same owner: Bella’s Boutique and Trendy Pieces.) I fell in love with this sweater the second that I saw it. The lace on the shoulders is the perfect balance for wider hips. Also the waist is cinched in. 

I try not to wear all three pieces together too often, though. I love pants/trousers. I have a pair of wide leg, button front gray sailor trousers that I am in love with.  I prefer pants to jeans for any occasion. I love t-shirts with trousers and skinny black suspenders. I also prefer skirts to jeans, too, but it is winter.

When I do wear jeans I wear them with a nice knit or a button up.

I like to mix casual and dressy. Of course, if I have to go really dressy, I prefer to wear my own clothes. There are a few dress that I have that I didn’t make. I have a beautiful blue garden dress for summer and a cute, tattered little black dress for winter.

As for hair and make-up. I have bangs. They are usually down. I like to keep my hair straight most of the time. I’m always changing the color though. It was a spunky yellow blonde with pink streaks. Now, it’s champagne blonde(Revlon Colorsilk 73). The pink streaks are just barely visible underneath. I’m trying to decide if I want to do more.

I wear a lot of foundation, because of old acne scars, but not a lot of other make-up. For foundation I go back and forth between Revlon Colorstay in Ivory and Clinique Even Better in Linen. The Revlon is the closest I’ve found to my skin tone, although still not perfect. It does last a long time, though. I can say 8am to 8pm. The Clinique Even Better foundation is supposed to even out skin tone. I haven’t worn it long enough to comment on that, but I can say that it turns my skin color to orange. If it does start to even out my skin tone and lighten my scars, I’ll let you know. But being orange while it’s supposed to be doing that, doesn’t seem to be worth it. Do I have any very fair skin readers that can suggest a good foundation for other very fair skin women?

Maybelline Mascara, Rimmel blush, e.l.f. lipgloss. If it’s a special occasion I’ll do a brown smoky eye. I also used to wear Revlon Fire and Ice lipstick, but since my son ate mine I haven’t bought a new one. I also like Cover Girl’s Outlast Lipstain.

 

That’s about all folks. Now you know more about my style and what types of clothing I like. What are some of your winter wardrobe favorites?

*I have had comments that I don’t look like a pear while I’m out. Well, hopefully I don’t. Otherwise, why would you trust me to balance out your shape if I can’t balance out my own? I take that as a huge compliment. Also, I started a work-out regimen about 4 months ago. Maybe I will be closer to a boy shape. That’s not what I’m going for, but that might be what happens. I like my shape. I just want to be more toned.

What do you think?

