Standard

I am an avid O Magazine reader. I love the articles. They are inspiring and helpful. I just received my January 2012 issue in the mail. I like to read before bedtime. Last night I was enjoying my O until I got to an article titled “Your Biggest Dressing Dilemmas Solved!”. It was written by Adam Glassman, an O Creative Director.

On page 110 you’ll see that Adam’s “solution” to muffin top is a soft, belted top and trouser jeans. I have two main problems with this outfit. The first being that the trouser jeans to not rise to the natural waist. The reason this is a problem is the belt is at the natural waist. I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but if you put a belt at your natural waist and your jeans don’t rise that high, it can cause the shirt to cling to the trousers. That means when you walk the shirt is going to puff out in the space between the belt and the place where the shirt is clinging to the trousers. Which will accentuate your muffin top, not hide it.
My second problem is that the shirt that they put on this women is cut across the hips. What happens when a shirt is cut across the hips? It makes the hips look wider! So, not only has he accentuated this poor woman’s muffin top, he has also made her hourglass shape into a pear.

Later on in the article they come back to Muffin Top(page 113). The solution is shapewear. I disagree. You don’t need shapewear if your waist rises high enough and isn’t too tight.

On the same page they tackle the Tummy Pooch. Again, their solution is shapewear. Namely, “Briefs with elastic panels in front”. Then they put this poor woman in a tunic shirt that gives her the potato sack shape that I was livid about yesterday. No. No. No. When you have an apple shape you need to refocus the attention on the bust/shoulders and the hips/booty. You don’t just pull a sack over your shoulders to “hide” the problem.

Just a few more things I promise…

Mom Butt – They’re solution: padded panties under butt-lifting shorts under jeans. My solution: pants or jeans with flap pockets. Also, these days, they make jeans that lift the booty.

Chub Rub – They’re solution: more shapewear. My solution: better pants. Higher quality, stiffer fabrics.

Double Boobs – They’re solution: more coverage. My solution: The right size bra! If you’re not wearing the right size then you’re going to have spillage. It doesn’t matter how much coverage there is.

I don’t know what else to say. I think the article could have been better. I like to offer different solutions, not just one: shapewear. I’m a little disappointed in my O Mag this month. I am glad there are other, more useful, articles in there.

2 thoughts on “

  1. I agree. I wish the only solutions suggested weren’t just shapewear and tenting yourself. Love what you got, no matter what it is. There are clothes for you if you look hard enough and you really help out a lot women on this site for sure. I’ve never seen a blog quite like this that shows a couple of outfits for all shapes in one post. I’m a new reader of this blog and I really love it! 🙂

What do you think?

