How To Host A Talk Show

Standard

I’m a daytime TV junkie. I watch while I’m working. I watch while I’m working out. I know it’s an unhealthy habit, but it’s on in the background all day. I used to watch MSNBC all day. I got really tired of politics, though. So now I watch Live! with Kelly, The View, The Chew, and The Talk. Of course I also watch Ellen, because it’s all good things. The entire family loves Ellen and Wheel of Fortune. We used to not watch a lot of the tube, but when it starts getting hot, I turn into a sloth.  Other than all of the road-trips I have planned for the summer, we’ll be spending a lot of time inside.

I don’t like a lot of what people are wearing on the silver screen these days. My biggest thing right now is the way Vanna White dresses. I don’t want to pick on anyone. I love Vanna White. She’s fabulous. Her gowns are always perfect for her. HOWEVER, she’s a column shape and when she does those spots in “normal clothes” she always dresses like she’s a pear. It really frustrates me that she has such a great shape and she doesn’t know how to dress it, in my opinion.

I got sidetracked there for a second. I thought this would be a great post. Also fun, but who am I kidding, for me, they’re all fun!

Boy: This puff sleeve blouse paired with a pleated mini break up the torso and pull in at the waist. It creates an hourglass shape and elongates the legs. I’ve been dying to use the Marc Jacobs shirt in the second look for a long time. I added a belt to break up the torso. It’s fabulous. Be careful with flare leg pants, though. The flare is used here to create more of a shape for your bum, but be careful because they can make your legs look shorter. Pair them with anything pointy toed to keep your legs looking long and lean. The dress is simple and chic, also pulling in at the waist like the first look. If you want to make it a little more dressy you can add a jacket, as shown.

Talk Show - Boy
Pear: This dress is only going to work with a lighter color in the top. I’ve seen it in other colors, but go with this one, because the lighter color up top – in the shape that it’s in –  is what is going to balance out a pear shape. It’s a visual distraction. The wide leg pants are perfect in the second look, because they bring the width of a bigger bottom straight down. Not only does that minimize the appearance of larger hips, it also makes the legs look longer. The bow on the shirt makes the look a little top-heavy all by itself, but when put on a pear shape it will look perfectly balanced. The straight pencil skirt in the third look does the same as the straight leg pants. The wide shoulders and bold patterns of the top balance out a bigger bum.
How To Host A Talk Show
Column: I’m pretty sure I’ve used this dress before for Columns, but it fits both the body type and the situation. The wide coral stripe at the bottom of the skirt balances out a bigger top easily. I added a brooch at the waist to put more emphasis there. I love the jacket in the second look. The way it sits at the hip makes the hips look wider. I made the tank top a little darker than the jacket on purpose. With the jacket on you will have a fun mix of pinks that will add a sense of depth. The pants are my favorite part of all of these pieces. I changed the buttons because I don’t think the other buttons added enough to the hips. But these buttons really do it. You don’t always have to use frills and ruffles to balance out a larger top. Sometimes just a bold pattern is enough. This third look would work even if the skirt wasn’t ruffled. The jacket works even though it’s bright. It’s still not as bright as the skirt and it falls right across the butt – which is something you need.
How To Host A Talk Show
Apple: For the first look I picked a very structured shirt. Its pattern is really going to help camouflage a larger belly. I added a belt at the smallest part of the torso to separate the bust from the belly. The lace skirt is straight so it’s going to pull the width of the belly straight down, which will sort of help to minimize the look of a larger stomach. And the lace of the skirt will bring attention down and away from the belly. For the second look I went with a straight leg pant to elongate the legs and bring the line straight down from the stomach. I love this shirt because it cinches in right at the smallest part of an Apple’s torso and sits right across the hips to make them appear wider. I picked this dress because it pulls all the attention up to the bust. It also goes straight down from the widest part of the torso. Both of those things will help to minimize the look of a bigger tummy.
How To Host A Talk Show
Hourglass: This dress is perfect for an hourglass shape. It sits at the smallest part of the waist. The bold stripes keep the top and bottom balanced. The second look has a sheer belted blouse to pull in at the waist. It falls low enough on the bum to not bring any extra attention to that area. However, if it fell at the hips it would offset an hourglass’ natural balance by creating a pear shape. I chose high-rise pants to prevent muffin top. I went with a wide leg, because it keeps balance. If I were to pair a skinny leg with this blouse it would make the bottom half look wider than the top. The third look has a flared skirt and fitted shirt. Normally that would offset the balance, but this fitted top is a bold color and it’s a bandage top which adds some depth to it. The patterned, flared skirt is a perfect match. The pattern isn’t bold enough to distract from the top. Plus, the top has wide-set shoulder straps that will also balance well with the flare of the skirt.
How To Host A talk Show
Not only are these looks great for hosting a day time talk show, they will also work well as office wear, for lunch dates, or networking events.
If you have an event or gathering that you need help dressing for, let me know in the comments. I’d love to help.

What do you think?

